Interview with author, Lily Paradis

Author Lily Paradis answers questions about herself, Ignite & her new novel,Volition!

It’s been the talk of the book world. Readers (including me!) have been fangirling about the novel Ignite, written by Lily Paradis. I suddenly, like many other people, wanted the chance to be able to talk with this fantastic author. So I decided to send Lily an email and guess what?! She agreed to answer some questions about herself & Ignite-  I’m sure we’ve all been dying to know about her inspiration for Ignite!

Also, a BIG thank you to Lily for taking the time off her busy schedule to answer these questions ❤

  tumblr_loz0lp7Q7w1qbj354o1_500

When did you decide that you wanted to write novels?

Lily: I’ve wanted to write novels since I was little. In first grade we all wrote our own books and got to paste the printed words into cardboard books…needless to say mine was longer than everyone else’s. Like Ignite, it involved a trip to Disneyland.

Did anything/anyone inspire/encourage you to become an author?

Lily: I think reading itself inspired me! I loved seeing my favorite authors post about their lives and their writing habits, and I loved reading more than anything else. Eventually I just wanted to write the kind of books I would want to read.

In your debut novel, Ignite, what was the inspiration for Lauren’s character & her situation(left with the 3 children)?

Lily: I nannied for three children for a week, and they are very much the real versions of the characters. While I was with them I started to envision what my life would be like if I had to take care of them all the time! 

Have you ever personally experienced anything similar to Lauren’s struggles?

Lily: I haven’t ever experienced anything like that. I’ve experienced loss, but not in the same way. Lauren gets a lot thrown at her!

Your latest book, Volition, sounds super exciting & a bit creepy/paranormal. When did you decided that you wanted to write something along these lines?

Lily: I wanted to write something that was a lot edgier and less fluffy. It’s VERY different from Ignite, but I hope readers will enjoy it as well. Tate McKenna is probably the most real (meaning she’s a lot like me) character I’ve ever written.

Any favourite authors?

Lily: Garth Nix, Tarryn Fisher, Colleen Hoover, and Nicole Williams.

Do you have an interesting quirk ?(e.g a phobia )

Lily: Haha! You’ll find that I share a certain phobia with Hayden Rockefeller in Volition. You’ll have to read it to find out what it is! I assure it’s incredibly ridiculous.

What/who was the inspiration for Dean?

Lily: There’s no one in particular that inspired Dean, but I felt like while I was writing him, I was writing a character that I would want to read about in a book. I can’t wait to share more about him in Arclight! I think you’ll really understand him as person and questions from Ignite will be answered.

What is something you’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t yet done?

Lily: I want to go to Australia! Someone take me!!!

Favourite genre of books?

Lily: I honestly can’t pick a genre! I love fantasy, sci-fi, contemporary, romance… a little bit of everything! Staying in one genre would be boring to me.

Future plans? (new book etc)

Lily: Right now I’m writing Ragnarok! It’s an end of the world type contemporary.

Look out for Lily’s new book Volition!

If you haven’t read Ignite yet, Be sure to grab yourself a copy 😀 

0606

3 thoughts on “Interview with author, Lily Paradis

Leave a comment